Skip to content

Protecting life, Living Free and Pursuit of Happiness are over rated throwbacks to Colonial America

February 10, 2010

The preamble to the Declaration of Independence has some of the most powerful and profound words ever written in American history.
“We hold these truths to be self evident, that all men are created equal and are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable rights; among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness”.
It doesn’t take a legal scholar to understand that these are powerful, weighty and important words!  In a wonderful talk I heard years ago, a speaker did a remarkable job of breaking this sentence into digestible and invigorating bites of reality.  I’m going to attempt to recreate some of what I recall.  “We hold” clearly refers to a group of like-minded people unified in their position as related to the next segment of the statement.  “These truths” not some truth but specific truths which stand up to both the test of time and are backed up by and supported by other demonstrable truth. “To be self evident“; the truths referenced need no explanation, no clarification and anyone may understand them; they are like hot and cold we do not need anyone to tell us whether it is one or the other!  “That all men” there is no exclusivity among men or people, rather what comes next applies universally to all people.  “Are created equal“; not the same, equal, because they have intrinsic (by creation) value, worth and dignity.  “And are endowed by their Creator” given as an inheritance by the one who created them, God, and, by virtue of their creation, they possess…”certain unalienable rights” these are particular, not given by men and are universal to mankind.  “Among these” the list to follow may not be complete but that which is listed is very specifically and most importantly (to the “We“) noted and recognized.  “Are life” the natural, creator given right of a human being to do whatever he must to protect and or keep his life.  “Liberty” the freedom to choose the way, quality and substance of the life she chooses to live.  “And the pursuit of happiness” your happiness is not guaranteed instead, your right to define it, and go after it is recognized and respected.
That’s some pretty cool stuff!  2% of Colonial America fought to gain the right to live in freedom of the sort described in the Declaration.  These are beautiful, precious and timeless conditions of real liberty.  They are not somehow subject to the enlightened few to re-interpret add to or take from.  Natural rights have natural responsibilities..   My right to life does not give me the right to take yours, only to defend mine.  If I choose to take your life, then I may be required to give up my own in exchange, not must, may.   My right to liberty does not extent to the denial of yours in favor of mine.  I am free to do as I please unless my doing of it prohibits, restricts or threatens you from living as you see fit.  I do not have the right to impose my notion of liberty on you but you, likewise, may not impose yours on me.  In the public square, I accept certain restrictions on my liberties which freely elected authority enact to foster harmony among community members.  In my pursuit of happiness, I have no right to expect you to contribute to my happiness nor do I have the right to impose my view of what makes me happy, content or satisfied on you.  I have the right to define that which makes me happy, I have the right to enlist you as part of my happiness and you have the right to tell me to buzz off!  Likewise, you do not have the right to force me to contribute to your happiness.
That one sentence preamble is a really good thing!  I’m glad there were some very wise people in those olden times; they seemed to know how to capture the most basic elements of a free and prosperous society without having to do it in ways the common man could not grasp.

I think I’ll go get me a tri-cornered hat!

No comments yet

Leave a comment